Skip navigation

We are all faced with a series of great opportunities brilliantly disguised as impossible situations. – Charles R. Swindoll

When I’m depressed, waking up is such a difficult task. All that awaits in a day is misery, annoyance, inconvenience, and new problems. Spending just one more moment in bed, one more moment away from the problems is such a relief. Only bad things can come, and the day is spent attempting to lessen the pain.

I came to a revelation today though. What if your day was a positive experience? What would change? What if, instead of dealing with the problems of the day, you went for the opportunities. There are people around who love you, interesting places to go, experiences worth having, and all sorts of moments to enjoy. No matter what one does in a day, after it’s over, the only thing you can really lose are the opportunities the day afforded you, some never to return.

When I’m depressed, days are spent with anxiety over the things that supposedly have to be done. It’s annoying that I have to prepare, to eat, to go out, to do chores, to deal with people. Everything just takes away from the time spent to sleep, to hide.

But the day holds opportunity. The day that isn’t used preparing for the best,  enjoying meals, going out and experiencing exhilaration,  and meeting new people is an opportunity missed. An opportunity that many not be there tomorrow. That may not be there in the next hour. That may not be there in the next year. So why not use it now? When else can you be assured of its comforting presence?

When I’m depressed, it seems like they will be there forever, waiting for me. Never will I escape these problems, these issues that so cause me to sleep. Every day I wish I could get rid of them, but if they were gone then I wouldn’t have their comfort, the knowledge that I still want them, tucked away in the farthest corners of my mind.

When I’m not depressed, I want these opportunities. I feel anxiety to not be taking them, rather a desire, a passion that drives me to do, to create and to seize the day. It’s an experience like no other. Wanting to experience life.

Life isn’t meant to be a series of problems, awaiting your dealing with them. It’s a series of opportunities, waiting to be taken and transformed into something amazing.

Leave a Reply

